Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916) Young Deer... - Lot 38 - Oger - Blanchet

Lot 38
Got to lot
Estimation :
100000 - 150000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 138 000EUR
Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916) Young Deer... - Lot 38 - Oger - Blanchet
Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916)

Young Deer Scratching its Neck, circa 1906

Black patina bronze proof, signed, stamped "Cire perdue Hébrard", and numbered "2" on the terrace. Limited edition of 5 copies.

Height Height : circa 25 cm

Terrace : Length : 32 cm - Width : 11,5 cm

Weight : 4,9 kg 100 000 / 150 000 €



Related work :

Musée d'Orsay, Young deer scratching its neck, plaster, Musée d'Orsay.

Comparative bibliography:

- Véronique Fromanger, Rembrandt Bugatti Sculpteur, monograph directory, Une trajectoire foudroyante, éditions de l'Amateur / éditions des Arènes, Paris, 2016, described and reproduced on page 310, no. 154.

- Jacques-Chalom des Cordes and Véronique Fromanger des Cordes, Rembrandt Bugatti, catalogue raisonné, 1987, described and reproduced page 135.

- Art et Décoration, 1913, article by André Salmon, reproduced on page 161.

Provenance:

- Émile Chouanard collection, acquired in 1907.

- By descent to the present owners.

A certificate from Madame Véronique Fromanger

will be given to the buyer.



Rembrandt Bugatti was a special genius, a meteorite in the art of his time. Although he died prematurely, he nevertheless found the time to create an animal pantheon that was more vivid than life itself, thanks to his long observation of the species he worshipped at the Jardin des Plantes in Paris and at the Antwerp Zoo, then the largest in the world.

Born into a stimulating artistic environment (his father was the famous decorator and architect Carlo Bugatti, and his brother was the automobile designer Ettore Bugatti), the young Rembrandt was introduced to sculpture at an early age by his godfather Giovanni Segantini, the leading Italian Divisionist painter.

In 1903, at the age of 19, the artist moved to Paris. The city was then bubbling with creative effervescence. He soon signed an exclusive contract with the French publisher and art founder Adrien-Aurélien Hébrard. Although Bugatti's work could be reproduced, it was nonetheless unique, as Hébrard imposed the concept of an original edition, strictly limited and numbered, which did not detract from the exceptional quality of each model.

The deer presented here is one of the deer models that Bugatti seems to have particularly appreciated and that he observed in the Jardin des Plantes between 1904 and 1906. The deer are often depicted, in groups or alone, in gentle, serene, and spontaneous attitudes, thus distancing themselves from the hieratic nature of his felines. He delivers here the image of an animal engaged in an activity of a touching normality, using neither heroism nor symbolism to achieve it. The technique of bare hand modelling he adopts contributes to this impression of vitality, the artist's apparent touch making the light vibrate on the animal's coat.

The condition of the antlers suggests that our young stag was captured in early spring. Having lost its antlers after the rutting season, we can already make out the pedicles that announce the future ramifications characteristic of its species.

After the First World War, Rembrandt Bugatti contracted tuberculosis and killed himself at the age of 31. This tragic end contributed to the aura surrounding his Menagerie. In the words of André Salmon, he was "a skilful and tender artist, the sculptor of a generous idea".





We would like to thank Mrs Véronique Fromanger for the precious information she has given us.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916) Jeune cerf... - Lot 38 - Oger - Blanchet

Lot 38
Aller au lot
Estimation :
100000 - 150000 EUR
Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916) Jeune cerf... - Lot 38 - Oger - Blanchet
Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916)

Jeune cerf se grattant le cou, circa 1906

Épreuve en bronze à patine noire, signée, marquée du cachet « Cire perdue Hébrard », et numérotée « 2 » sur la terrasse. Tirage limité à 5 exemplaires.

Haut. : circa 25 cm

Terrasse : Long. : 32 cm - Larg. 11,5 cm

Poids : 4,9 kg 100 000 / 150 000 €



Oeuvre en rapport :

Musée d’Orsay, Jeune cerf se grattant le cou, plâtre, musée d’Orsay.

Bibliographie comparative :

- Véronique Fromanger, Rembrandt Bugatti Sculpteur, répertoire monographie, Une trajectoire foudroyante, éditions de l’Amateur / éditions des Arènes, Paris, 2016, décrit et reproduit page 310, n° 154.

- Jacques-Chalom des Cordes et Véronique Fromanger des Cordes, Rembrandt Bugatti, catalogue raisonné, 1987, décrit et reproduit page 135.

- Art et Décoration, 1913, article d’André Salmon, reproduit page 161.

Provenance :

- Collection Émile Chouanard, acquis en 1907.

- Par descendance aux actuels propriétaires.

Un certificat de Madame Véronique Fromanger

sera remis à l’acquéreur.



Rembrandt Bugatti est un génie particulier, une météorite dans l'art de son temps. Disparu prématurément, il trouve néanmoins le temps de créer un panthéon animalier plus vivant que nature grâce à sa longue observation des espèces qu'il vénérait au Jardin des Plantes de Paris et au zoo d'Anvers alors le plus grand du monde.

Issu d'un milieu artistique stimulant (son père est le célèbre Carlo Bugatti, décorateur et architecte aux formes originales, et son frère le designer automobile Ettore Bugatti), le jeune Rembrandt s'initie très tôt à la sculpture, encouragé dans cette voie par son parrain Giovanni Segantini, chef de file des peintres divisionnistes italiens.

En 1903, âgé de 19 ans, l'artiste s'installe à Paris. La ville bouillonne alors d'une effervescence créative. Très vite, il signe un contrat d'exclusivité avec l'éditeur et fondeur d'art français Adrien-Aurélien Hébrard. Reproductible, l'œuvre de Bugatti n'en est pas moins unique car Hébrard impose la notion d'édition originale, strictement limitée et numérotée, n'enlevant rien à la qualité exceptionnelle de chaque modèle.

Le cerf que nous présentons fait partie des modèles de cervidés que Bugatti semble particulièrement apprécier et qu'il observe au Jardin des Plantes entre 1904 et 1906. En effet, les cerfs sont maintes fois représentés, en groupe ou solitaires, dans des attitudes emplies de douceur, de sérénité et de spontanéité, s'éloignant ainsi du hiératisme que dégagent ses félins. Il livre ici l'image d'un animal s'adonnant à une activité d'une normalité touchante, n'usant ni d'héroïsme ni de symbolisme pour y parvenir. La technique du modelage à main nue qu'il adopte participe à cette impression de vitalité, la touche apparente de l'artiste faisant vibrer la lumière sur le pelage de l'animal.

L'état des bois nous permet de penser que notre jeune cerf a été saisi au début du printemps. Ayant perdu ses bois après la saison du rut, on devine déjà les pédicules qui annoncent les futures ramifications caractéristiques de son espèce.

Après la Première Guerre Mondiale, Rembrandt Bugatti contracte la tuberculose et se donne la mort alors qu'il n'a que 31 ans. Cette fin tragique participe de l'aura qui entoure sa Ménagerie. Avec lui disparait, selon les mots d'André Salmon, un " artiste adroit et tendre, le sculpteur d'une idée généreuse ".





Nous remercions vivement Madame Véronique Fromanger pour les informations précieuses qu'elle nous a données.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue