DENIS Maurice [Granville, 1870 - Saint-Germain-en-Laye,... - Lot 42 - Oger - Blanchet

Lot 42
Got to lot
Estimation :
150 - 300 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 170EUR
DENIS Maurice [Granville, 1870 - Saint-Germain-en-Laye,... - Lot 42 - Oger - Blanchet
DENIS Maurice [Granville, 1870 - Saint-Germain-en-Laye, 1943], French painter and decorator.
Set of 3 autograph letters signed, addressed to Albert Laprade:
- Autograph letter signed "Maurice Denis". March 18, 1930; 1 page in-4°.
"I recall your kind memory and come to recommend you one of my former students and collaborators, Louis Bouquet, who is in question, is it not for a decoration of your Palais de Vincennes. Louis Bouquet worked with me at the Théâtre des Ch. E., and at Saint Paul de Genève: he rendered me the greatest services. He composes very well, he has a very personal and learned drawing. He is a decorator and a true artist, who already has a long experience of the wall and will know how to adapt to your surfaces and to the spirit of your architecture.
- Autograph letter signed "Maurice Denis". July 25 [1930]; 2 pages in-8°.
"Madame Maurice Denis thanks you for having so kindly reminded the Poncets (our children in Switzerland) of your desire to see them in your mountain. We were passing on the invitation to them [...]. Please excuse this note written in the midst of preparations for departure. [...] For my part, I cannot tell you enough how much I am attracted and seduced by the turn of mind and the quality of feelings shown by your sympathy for Marcel and for me.
- Autograph letter signed "Maurice Denis". December 1930]; 1 page in-4°. "I give in to the wish of one of my former students Raphael Drouart who is taking part in a diorama competition for the Coloniale. He would like you to look at his model with attention... and kindness. That's done. Drouart is a very good illustrator [...]. See if you can help him.
Attached from Corrie Siohan : a letter signed from (1971) and another autograph letter signed on Mrs Maurice Denis.
Two autograph visiting cards of the painter and a notice of Maurice Denis' funeral are attached.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

DENIS Maurice [Granville, 1870 - Saint-Germain-en-Laye,... - Lot 42 - Oger - Blanchet

Lot 42
Aller au lot
Estimation :
150 - 300 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 170EUR
DENIS Maurice [Granville, 1870 - Saint-Germain-en-Laye,... - Lot 42 - Oger - Blanchet
DENIS Maurice [Granville, 1870 - Saint-Germain-en-Laye, 1943], peintre et décorateur français.
Ensemble de 3 lettres autographes signées, adressées à Albert Laprade :
- Lettre autographe signée « Maurice Denis ». 18 mars 1930 ; 1 page in-4°.
« Je me rappelle à votre bienveillant souvenir et viens vous recommander un de mes anciens élèves et collaborateurs, Louis Bouquet dont il est question, n'est-ce pas pour une décoration de votre Palais de Vincennes. Louis Bouquet a travaillé avec moi au Théâtre des Ch. E., et à Saint Paul de Genève : il m'a rendu les plus grands services. Il compose très bien, il a un dessin très personnel et savant. C'est un décorateur et un véritable artiste, qui a déjà une longue expérience du mur et saura s'adapter à vos surfaces et à l'esprit de votre architecture ».
- Lettre autographe signée « Maurice Denis ». 25 juillet [1930] ; 2 pages in-8°.
« Madame Maurice Denis vous remercie d'avoir si aimablement pensé à rappeler aux Poncet (nos enfants de Suisse) votre désir de les voir dans votre montagne. Nous leur transmettions l'invitation [...]. Excusez ce mot écrit au milieu des préparatifs de départ. [...] Pour moi je ne sais assez vous dire combien je suis attiré et séduit par la tournure d'esprit et la qualité des sentiments dont témoigne votre sympathie pour Marcel et pour moi ».
- Lettre autographe signée « Maurice Denis ». [Décembre 1930] ; 1 page in-4°. « Je cède au désir d'un de mes anciens élèves Raphael Drouart qui prend part à un concours de diorama pour la Coloniale. IL voudrait que vous regardiez sa maquette avec attention... et bienveillance. Voilà qui est fait. Drouart est un très bon illustrateur [...]. Voyez si vous pouvez le favoriser ».
On joint de Corrie Siohan : une lettre signée de (1971) et une autre lettre autographe signée sur Mme Maurice Denis.
On joint deux cartes de visites autographes du peintre et un faire part des obsèques de Maurice Denis.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue